top of page

IS AGE HOLDING YOU BACK FROM SERVING GOD? MOSES AND THE BURNING BUSH



Is God asking or directing you to serve him in a way that seems untenable to you? Is your response to Him, I'm too old, I'm too tired, I don't have the energy for that Lord, or my mind is not what it used to be. Please choose someone else? If so, then read on because in this post we are going to look at how the Lord uses "mature folk" to serve Him in monumental ways.




If you are familiar with the Bible you know that God used people well into their old age to do his work. Abraham was 99 when God made His covenant promising Abraham that he would be the father of many nations. God kept his promise by giving Abraham and Sarah a son well into their later years. The Bible tells us that Sarah was 90 when she had Isaac and it specifically says that "Abraham and Sarah were already very old, and Sarah was past the age of childbearing." (Exodus 18:11 NIV)

Daniel, would have been in his 80’s when he was thrown into the lion’s Den. Also, God gave Daniel great visions and revelations about things to come when he was an old man.


Joshua would have been into his older years when he crossed over to the promised land and became the leader of the Israel. He was would probably have been in his 80’s when he lead his army to take the city of Jericho


And of course, there is Moses. Moses was 80 and Aaron 83 when they spoke to Pharaoh on behalf of God commanding Pharaoh to let the Israelites go. (Exodus 7:7 NIV).


We know that Moses was hesitant to get on board with God’s command, because in Exodus 3:7-10 (NIV) we read:

7 The Lord said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. 8 So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey—the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. 9 And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. 10 So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.”

Notice that this was not an ask. It was a command. “So, now, go.” Can you imagine? Take a second and try to put yourself in Moses’ sandals. He is talking to GOD!!! Just wrapping his head around that must have been enormous, but then hearing GOD say, “now, go. I am sending YOU to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt." WHAAAAT?


But Moses said to God, "who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt? ("Exodus 3:11-12 NIV ) Most of us would respond the same I think. and God replied "I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God on this mountain.” So, here God is affirming to Moses that Moses will bring the people out of Egypt and then they will worship on the very mountain he was standing on.


Notice that God did not answer Moses in with a list of credentials. God was telling Moses it doesn’t matter, I will be with you! Do you see how this ties in with us? It doesn’t matter! God is with us! If he calls us, he will be with us, even in our old age. In Psalm 92:14: "Even in old age they will still produce fruit; they will remain vital and green." This is how God sees us, vital and green. suggesting to me, that He will sustain us.


Now, Moses’ mind must have been spinning after hearing God’s directive. It is astonishing that he went on to ask such coherent and relevant questions, including …“Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” (Exodus 3:13 NIV) Moses’ clearly had ability to act boldly and think logically under pressure. (Maybe an attribute Moses did not see in himself. But it seems that God did!)


God answered all of Moses’ questions and gave Moses great signs to show to the people as proof that he had indeed spoken to the LORD, like turning his staff into a snake, or turning his hand leprous and then restoring it. But Moses said to the Lord in Exodus 4:10 (NIV): “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”


The Bible tells us that Moses was a humble man (Numbers 12:3). But the Lord pointed out to Moses in Exodus 4 verses 11 and 12: 11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” God said I will help you and I will teach you what to say! Wow! How cool is it that the Lord gives us training to do his work!


Exodus Verse 13 "But Moses said” pardon your servant Lord. Please send someone else." Okay, we get it. We can understand where Moses was coming from. The task God was laying before him was way bigger than Moses was. But it was not bigger than God! God knew Moses had insecurities! But God in his awesome and masterful brilliance eliminated Moses’ objections! He gave him his brother Aaron to speak for him!


Of course we know the rest of the story, if you don’t I encourage you to read Exodus through Deuteronomy in the Old Testament of the Bible. Yes, Moses went on to be a great man and a highly revered servant of the Lord, even so much as to have God refer to Moses as his friend, all because he obeyed God’s and did not reject his call. You see, sometimes God uses us for heavy lifting when we believe we are far beyond our heavy lifting years and in Job 12:12 (ESV) we are told "Wisdom is with the aged, and understanding in length of days."





God knows your heart, he knows your fears and insecurities, but like Moses, he will provide a way for you to move forward in his plan for you. Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV). "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."


If you feel that God is asking something of you that is just more than you can handle, tell him what your concerns are just as Moses did, and watch God move in miraculous ways in your life!


So, my seasoned friends, don't let age stand in the way of action. Don’t let your inadequacies be bigger than God in your life. He may stretch you farther than you feel comfortable, but He will fortify you and bless you when you say yes to Him.


2 Corinthians 9:8 (NIV) "And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work."

I hope this post has been a source of encouragement for you. Remember, All is possible with God.!

Until next time, may God bless you richly!


Joellen























bottom of page