top of page

MEDIA BURNOUT? WATCH THE CHOSEN!

Philippians 4:8 says "whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things."


I’ve had to really check myself lately, when it comes to watching many of the popular series out there, as well as limiting my news watching and social media time. It isn’t easy! I’ll find myself really getting into a show only to sense the holy spirit tapping me on the shoulder and shaking His head and saying, “not this one”. So, I turn it off. Sometimes, with a heavy sigh. But I know I am better off for taking heed!


So, in a sea of “stuff” to watch, my husband and I heard about a series called The Chosen and all I can say is WOW! This is a must see! If you are going to invest your time into a series, please make it this one!


Now, this is not a cheesy low budget religious flick, this is a high quality, top shelf production, and the music is awesome, too!



The Chosen is about the ministry of Jesus as seen through the eyes of his disciples. It really gives you a bird’s-eye view into what it must have been like to be in our Lord’s inner circle. Unlike so many “life of Christ” films, Jesus is portrayed as a the son of man (both human and divine) who truly feels human emotion. He laughs, he cries, he dances, and even jokes from time to time, as I am sure Jesus really did!


Jonathan Roumie, is the actor who brilliantly portrays Jesus. The whole cast is amazing! All I can say is that this series hits on such a gut level that it is almost impossible not to be affected by it. You will more than likely draw closer to Jesus through this series. You will want to binge Jesus!


HOW YOU CAN WATCH


It is completely free to watch, but you won’t find it on any of the familiar sites like Netflix, Hulu or the like. This series is fully funded independently by investors and people like you and me. The producer and creator Dallas Jenkins wanted the freedom to create the series without the dictates and limitation of Hollywood. Season One is complete and the first three episodes of season two are now streaming!


So here is how you watch:


YOUTUBE

For season one you can go to YouTube and watch - just click the link below - if you watch this way at the beginning and end of the episode you will see Dallas Jenkins talking to you a bit about how the series.


THE APP

Here is a link that shows you how to stream it from the app/tv/computer or buy the DVD's outright.



You can also visit the FB page or Instagram to be engaged with the community:


This is not a paid ad for The Chosen - I’m just an avid fan, as is my Husband. I think we’ve watched season one four times now! So, if you are looking for something to watch that is praise worthy, excellent and commendable, do add this one to your list - If you are going to binge watch something - Binge Jesus!


See ya next time!


Joellen






bottom of page